Sarina Weigman has announced her squad for England’s decisive UEFA Women’s EURO 2025 Qualifiers this summer. 

The England boss has named 28 players for the upcoming games which include a double header with France and games against the Republic of Ireland and Sweden. The main squad is formed of 24 players with four more on standby.

Millie Bright returns to the squad after injury for the first time this year, and there is also good news for forward Aggie Beever-Jones who has been called up after an impressive season with Chelsea and the Women’s Under-23s.

Those named on the standby list include, Missy Bo Kearns (Liverpool), Jess Naz (Tottenham Hotspur), Maya Le Tissier (Manchester United) and Kayla Rendell (Southampton).

Wiegman said: “This is another important summer for us to achieve our goal of qualifying for the EURO.

“After an intense season, we wanted to give the players clarity and help them to prepare for the FIFA windows in the best possible way, with the balance of performance and welfare as a priority.”

The full squad was announced at 10.45am this morning via the Lionesses’ social media pages.

The Lionesses face France in Newcastle on Friday 31 May, before travelling to Saint-Étienne for the return fixture with Les Bleus on Tuesday 4 June.

There is then a gap before the EURO qualifying group stage campaign concludes with fixtures against the Republic of Ireland in Norwich on Friday 12 July and a trip to Gothenburg to face Sweden on Tuesday 16 July.

The squad for the final two group matches in July will also be formed from the group of 28 players named today.

As of now, the Lionesses sit second in their qualifying group two points behind France after a draw with Sweden and a win over the Republic of Ireland last month.

Featured image courtesy of Emilie Mwanza

By Emilie Mwanza

Founder of Beyond The 90. Trainee multimedia journalist based in Preston.